Obama Administration Announces US 'Manufacturing Communities'

By Admin
The American government has announced the creation of 12 Manufacturing Communities in a bid to spur investment and create jobs beyond the 647,000 genera...

The American government has announced the creation of 12 Manufacturing Communities in a bid to spur investment and create jobs beyond the 647,000 generated in the sector since the financial crash. 

To build on this momentum in manufacturing, the Obama Administration launched the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership (IMCP) last September– an initiative to spur communities to develop integrated, long-term economic development strategies that strengthen their competitive edge in attracting global manufacturers and their supply chains to our local communities—increasing investment and creating jobs.

IMCP specifically brings together the resources of multiple federal departments and agencies to support strong local economic development plans.

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker has announced the first 12 communities that will be designated Manufacturing Communities as part of the second phase of the IMCP. 

Selected out of more than 70 communities that applied, these 12 communities developed strong economic development plans and have deep partnerships in place across the public and private sectors to carry out their plans.

The first 12 Manufacturing Communities designated by the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership are:

  1. Southwest Alabama led by the University of South Alabama
  2. Southern California led by the University of Southern California Center for Economic Development
  3. Northwest Georgia led by the Northwest Georgia Regional Commission
  4. The Chicago metro region led by the Cook County Bureau of Economic Development
  5. South Kansas led by Wichita State University
  6. Greater Portland region in Maine led by the Greater Portland Council of Governments
  7. Southeastern Michigan led by the Wayne County Economic Development Growth Engine
  8. The New York Finger Lakes region led by the City of Rochester
  9. Southwestern Ohio Aerospace Region led by the City of Cincinnati
  10. The Tennessee Valley led by the University of Tennessee
  11. The Washington Puget Sound region led by the Puget Sound Regional Council
  12. The Milwaukee 7 Region led by the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Milwaukee

Eleven federal agencies with $1.3 billion in economic development funds will be able to use the designees' plans to make targeted investments in demonstrably strong public-private partnerships to strengthen regional manufacturing.

In addition, each designated community will also receive a federal liaison and branding and promotion as a designated Manufacturing Community to help attract additional private investment and partnerships.

Later this year, the Administration will launch a second Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership competition to designate the next round of communities. 


Featured Articles

Immensa and Intaj Suhar partner to boost Omani manufacturing

MENA’s leading digital manufacturer Immensa has partnered with Intaj Suhar to enhance Oman’s localised manufacturing through digital inventory solutions

Bain & Company Report: OEMs and Digital Transformation

Bain & Company report urges original equipment manufacturers to embrace digital solutions and shift to a customer-focused mindset to stay competitive

The Factory of the Future: Manufacturers' Biggest Challenges

Here’s the biggest challenges manufacturers face with developing the factory of the future, with insight from Graham Upton, Head Of Technology at Capgemini

Dassault Systèmes Bring AR Manufacturing Showcase to London

Smart Manufacturing

Join Belden for a Free Webinar on Connected Plant Floor Data

Production & Operations

Cristina Semperboni: Women In Engineering Spotlight

Production & Operations